Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this cannot be changed, while others believe actions can be taken to bring about a change. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Human activities have caused a detrimental impact on flora and fauna globally. Some think that human exploitation of natural resources cannot be altered. While others believe that we can still bring about change before further irreversible damage can occur to the environment. I would argue that it is our responsibility to conserve the natural resources which we have destroyed and through this essay, I would be examining both views. Since the beginning of time, humans have used natural resources for their benefits such as food, clothing and shelter. A few people believe that various conservation projects for wildlife and plant species are not necessary as despite the extinction of many species of animals and plants in the past there has been no significant effect on the environment. In a recent survey by United Nations, despite the extinction of few species in the past, there are very few effects on the environment and in fact, few species of plants and animals continue to rise in their numbers over time without any human intervention. This reiterates the opinion that a number of species continue to exist despite of habitat loss caused by humans. On the other hand, environmental activists defend their opinion that we might be led into mass extinction and extreme food crisis due to deforestation attributed to human activities. Deforestation may lead to decline in the number of animal species which are useful for agricultural activities. Furthermore, the area of agricultural land can also decline due to deforestation worldwide leading to global food shortages. In a recent article published by The New York Times, the environmental conservation efforts such as Fridays for change have proven to be instrumental in reducing the impact caused by environmental abuse. As a result, various endangered species can now be conserved and these species can help in sustaining agriculture. In conclusion, by implementing conservation projects and creating awareness we can prevent further extinction of plants and animals rather than waiting for nature to heal itself. 330 words – too long time