Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present day, the number of diseases related to smoking is a concern in any society. In addition, the habit of smoking can cause not only illnesses in the short but also in a long term, resulting in fatal outcomes. One of the forms to deal with this problem will be governments prohibit any tobacco products. I totally agree with this assumption. From my point of view, without the presence of these kinds of products the health of people can be much healthier. Firstly, prevention is cheaper than treatment. In other words, smoking can lead to a variety of diseases such as lung cancer and respiratory disorders whereas the treatment for these diseases is tremendously expensive by virtue of hospitalization, and medications. For instance, a person who is suffering from lung cancer present a high likelihood of chronic diseases after cancer, increasing, even more, the cost of treatment. Therefore, prevention through educational campaigns can be incredibly useful and efficient. Secondly, if these products are banned, access to the population will be much more difficult due to the high prices that can lead to an improvement of the health of people. Moreover, when individuals have an excellent quality of life, for example, without the presence of alarming diseases, they can work for many years since they will not retire on disability in order that gets income from governments. The more the quality of their lives, the more productive they will be. Finally, schools and health organizations can promote educational campaigns to teach children the disadvantages of smoking. This way, avoiding appalling habits since childhood, these children in the future can have a life without cigarettes and other harmful items. An example of this is that, some international research shows that good habits, and healthy examples should be incentivized since earlier. For all these reasons, I tend to agree that governments should ban cigarettes and tobacco items. To conclude, prevention should always be prioritized since it can be beneficial for both citizens and the government. In order to promote a healthy life for the population, governments should ban products related to smoking.