Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Academies have been providing various types of courses for citizens to study, notwithstanding its popularity and usefulness. Some criticize that the university should prepare the students for employment with knowledge and skills, whereas others reckon that schools are places where people seek knowledge for their own good and interest. This essay inclines to the latter notion and will discuss both views. To begin with, some people claim that universities should train talents in different fields for the betterment of the community. Under mutual interest, learners are responsible for paying back to society with their knowledge. For example, professionals, such as dentists and doctors, learn not only the procedures but also the do's not don'ts of starting their business. However, it is not sure that they will continue their career in the same category. Like many of my friends, they pursue jobs that are not related to their specialties after graduation. Consequently, it is believed that higher education institutions do not only serve the purpose of equipping students for the workplace. Despite the idea, this essay agrees with those who believe that universities aim at giving access to young adults to knowledge that interests them. Apart from professional training, the predominant goal of education is to stimulate critical thinking. For instance, schoolboys are often required to give stands, opposing and supporting ideas on topics in their assignments. Subsequently, instead of ameliorating the world, it should improvise students to become better people. To conclude, all subjects, in my opinion, can develop a corresponding career if the students have ample knowledge about their major. While hands-on training is essential, developing a thorough mindset is more important.