CCTV cameras are a common sight in town centres, on public transport and outside many businesses. They not only help identify and apprehend criminals but also serve as a crime deterrent. However, some people believe that they are intrusive and constitute a breach of privacy. What do you feel is more important, personal privacy or public safety?

Nowadays, when technology is developing rapidly, the huge number of CCTV cameras are located in town centres and most populated places. It is believed that cameras are intrusive and constitute a breach of privacy, even if they serves as a crime detector. In my opinion, both personal privacy and public safety are important, as every individual should have a guarantee that they have a personal privacy and are protected from criminals. To begin with, CCTV cameras were created with a purpose if detecting criminals and illegal actions. Thus, they are not needed to be in every angle of town centres, since they can imbalance the situation of people that are arguing about personal privacy. For instance, many organizations and businesses do not require such security, as they are not government objects. In this case, personal privacy should be in the first place. Furthermore, according to recent statistics about CCTV cameras, most of them are situated in unneseccary places which means the movement to another sides is required. For example, such equipments in places around unpopulated regions should be removed. It guarantees that it does not constitute a breach of privacy. In conclusion, despite the fact that CCTV cameras help to identify criminals, personal activity should be taken into consideration, too.