Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization. why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantage of being self employed?

There has been a tremendous shift in work culture among individuals. People nowadays prefer to be self employed instead of, working under any organization. Although there are some obvious benefits of “being your own boss”, there are certain drawbacks as well. Millenials nowadays tend to start a business or do freelance work rather than working for a company or organization, mainly because of the perks of working independently. Being self employed would provide flexibility for an individual to control his working hours, as a result, improving the work -life balance. For example, when working for an organization there will be certain rules in place for entering and leaving the office while that is not the case for freelancing. Furthermore, unlike being employed under an organisation, self employment would allow the person to choose the field he needs to work in such as, art, programming, investing, etc, thereby leading to an increase in job satisfaction. However, besides all the colorful benifits provided by self employment there are also some disadvantages to it. Firstly, unlike working for an establishment, there will be no stable source of income for a freelancer, for instance, many of the freelancers working in the entertainment industries were hit badly by the Covid-19 pandemic. Secondly, people starting there own business often become stressed out due to managing finance and sometimes even give up due to lack of motivation, thus making their situation even worse. In conclusion, nowadays we are observing a tremendous shift in the working culture of millenials, where less number of individuals prefer to work for an employer. Benifits like flexible working hours and job satisfaction are the main reasons for this change in mindset. However, there are some disadvantages to being self employed like, inconsistent source of income and increase in stress.