Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic congestion and pollution problems are now one of the world’s most worrisome issues. However, although I agree that making the price of fossil fuel more expensive is one of the solutions to combat with these problems, I do not believe that it is the best. On the one hand, increasing the price of petrol undoubtedly encourage drivers to be more conscious of the amount of fuel they use. Some might even put effort into finding alternative ways of transportations. For example, people might prefer to walk to their destinations rather than driving. Moreover, expensive petrol means drivers from less affluents background might not be able to afford it. As a result, the number of private cars on roads will be reduced as well as traffic and pollution problems. However, despite the benefits mentioned above, I believe that providing sufficient education to citizens is far more effective than increasing the price of petrol. The main drawback with making petrol more expensive is it will be effective only with particular groups of people such as those from poorer economic background. In contrast, having good education, for example, will help people to understand causes and solutions for the problems as well as raising their awareness towards the issues at the same time. Moreover, it is also efficiently work for most people regardless their financial backgrounds. Finally, the best and most practical method to solve traffic and pollution problems is improving public transportations. Although expensive fossil fuels leads to the reduction the number of private car users, it is also means the price of goods and products will increase. However, making public transports more convenient, reliable and efficient will encourage people to turn away from using private cars and result in fewer cars on roads. In short, while I agree that increasing the price of petrol can be effective way to deal with traffic and pollution problems, I still believe that providing good education, or improving public transportations is better.