Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

families are nowadays inclined to send the senior member of their families to nursing home since they are not capable or willing to take care of them. In this essay,I will present why the advantages of this approach outweigh the disadvantages in today’s life. The obvious argument in its favour is that, nursing home is a convenient place with staff who are professionally trained to look after older people. They can benefit from expert care givers and doctors specially in case of emergencies.These places are equipped with all the facilities that any elderly desires. So they can feel comfortable spending their time there rather than being alone at home. Secondly, they can happily interact with people of the same generation. Older people may talk about their memories and listen to each other patiently without getting bored. There are however, some disadvantages. being in a nursing home may psychologically affect elderly since they expect their families to take care of them. They may get the feeling of not being loved by their children which would ultimately result in depression or insecurity. if I have a positive look at the issue. Moreover, care homes and these type of services are usually expensive that not every families could afford it. However, these services may be subsidised by the government and the psychological problems could be figured out by having a psychologist in every nursing home. To conclude, although it can be conveyed that being in nursing home might have a detrimental effect on elderly’s psyche,I belive that its benefits outweigh the drawbacks.