Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is true that most people decide to work for themselves instead of being employed. There are several reasons contributing to this trend, besides the risks need to be taken into consideration. Probably the main reason for being self-employed is feeling disengaged with work or employer, so they become a freelancer to have creative freedom and independence. Therefore, they can make the decisions for everything including their work environment, what they work on,... As a consequence, they do not necessarily need to be working nine to fine or have to spend time on dull, tedious projects,... Secondly, in many types of work, there is the potential to make more money by going solo because everything is in their hands, so they can take on more work at various times of day, and financially, the sky's the limit. In addition, they also do not have to pay them any employee benefits like annual leave, sick pay,... similar to a company or organisation. The option to become a sole trader also has many drawbacks and the main risk is uncertain workflow. Without a regular monthly paycheck coming in, finances fluctuate wildly especially in the early days. Therefore, they only earn the money to support life, when the clients need them. Secondly, they have to do all their work without external support, thus the work can be harder. If there is insufficient motivation to complete a project on time, chase new jobs or old debts,... business success may be slow. Furthermore, they also have to carry out all business functions including financial management or IT support,... not only does this require extra skills, the time to handle all areas is pure expenditure. In conclusion, there are numerous causes of being self-employed, but it is also a daunting prospect with many obstacles.