In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is not unusual in the world of endorsement to announce that a product or business is revised and made even better, each and every time they make a new exhibit to the telecast. Its positive and negative sides to being considered in detail before judging my negative attitude towards this commercial endeavour. On the one hand, there are some benefits to this marketing strategy. To start with, companies tend to add elements to a product, as part of continuing research, and the opinion of scientists, to make it more beneficial. It is good if these genuine things are explained in the new notice. For instance, a soap when added with almond oil could enhance its moisturizing property. This change often gets unnoticed if not marketed with a ‘new’ tag. Additionally, brands that were famous a decade ago or so might disappear from the memory of the public when not heard again. Such things rather need a ‘new’ tagged publicity, to get a life again in the market. On the other hand, negatives appear to be more highlighted in comparison. Often it seems, this strategy comes along with a business tactic of the marketing team to attract more customers, while they lack enough customers. A famous coconut oil brand in India, for instance, comes with a new ingredient almost every month and claims that the product has become new. More advertisements like this could minimize the trust of buyers towards the company. Another demerit is that through this way, the brands usually attract youth with false assurances. Teenagers, especially tend to fall into this trap believing every word in a commercial display without a fact check. Overall, even though putting up newness in an existing business and advertising that to the general public is not harmful, disadvantages appear to be overweighing the advantages to me. So, I would consider this as a negative development.