More people are spending their free time watching movies. Why is this? Is it a good or bad thing?

Entertainment has become a key aspect in many people living during their leisure time. Watching films has been increasing when citizens are free, indeed they are sparing a large amount of time for the same. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, and I think it has a negative impact on society instead of negligible good things. In this essay, I will discuss both, reasons and impacting areas in detail with necessary examples. There are two important reasons why people opt for watching movies in their spare time. First and foremost, it is a great pastime activity for many when they feel bored. As per the statistics of the world entertainment forum, for example, there are 78% of people choose to watch television to get entertained. Apart from this, acting has become a career path for many, which can be achieved by observing other fellow artists performances. Indian cinema is producing a whopping number of artists every year, for example, the famous Bollywood industry itself is encouraging twenty thousand new actors per year. Nonetheless, this criteria is not good for society as it leads to several issues. Spending a large amount of time watching movies is a bad idea in my opinion. Primarily, it influences the audience with its attractive content. Children are the first victims, for instance, to waste their precious time while watching animated videos for long hours. Adding to this, it also leads to health issues because of extended hours of sitting. The critical diseases observed such as giddiness, obesity and headache are the results of idle sitting. Hence, people have to choose their pastime wisely with alternatives like reading books or learning cultural arts or playing sports to avoid negative impacts. In conclusion, more and more people are attracted to watching movies to spend their leisure time. Basically, this phenomenon is observed because of boredom for some and for others it is a career path. In my opinion, this has drawbacks in the form of the audience being influenced by bad content and cause of severe ailments.