Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development, however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

To lift living standards, many countries shift their focus on economic development. Despite the very benefits it brings to a nation, some are concerned that social value is lost consequently. This essay inclines the notion that the downsides of economic development outweigh the advantages. Analyzing the current phenomenon will prove it. To begin with, the predominant drawback is that people are becoming increasingly greedy. For example, in order to earn more, numerous farmers add various pesticides and fertilizers, which are hazardous to humans and the environment, to shorten the growth cycle, and thus foster a higher yield, but yet worse quality. In contrast, people were more aware of their quality in the past decades and this is one of the essential qualities that many modern entrepreneurs lack. Therefore, economic development may diminish the good characteristics in people. Conversely, such development creates job opportunities and chances for the country to renovate. For instance, constructors tear down old infrastructures and replace them with high-rise buildings with decent offices and homes for sale and lease. As a result, the community can enjoy a better living environment. However, there are risks and actual examples where historical sites are destroyed, notwithstanding their social values. For instance, a village with great historical value was flooded in order to build the Three Gorges Dam. It is forever gone and the public will never be able to appreciate the beautiful town or learn about its past. Thereby, economic development may disrupt social values. To conclude, although it is important for a realm to spiral with the aid of economic development, it will weaken the goodness in humans, let alone social values. If the authorities neglect the importance of social values, the country will lose its features and attributes.