Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

It is distinctively stated in any countries law, how a defendant’s previous wrong doings can affect them in a trial. Some countries, such as United Kingdom and Australia help offenders shadow their unlawful past from the jury when giving their final verdict. In my opinion, this is an unbiased method and should be changed. Therefore I agree with the lawyer’s suggestion to amend this point, so that the jury can give a balanced verdict. First of all, if an offender has done a minor offence, normally the charges are dropped. But if the offence is life threatening or disturbs peace it should be dealt with severely. For instance, a criminal can commit a crime, which is inferior to the crime he/she is about to commit next. While there is no method of predicting if the criminal will continue with this crime spree the law makers should take measure to suppress this. Furthermore, there could be valuable reason of doubt as to predicting whether a law breaker would commit the same crime or any other more than once, which is why jury should consider giving thought to the criminals past wrong doings to make the right decision. While there is a chance that a criminal will learn a lesson after being accused and punished there is low possibility that it would happen in reality. In conclusion, it is important for a jury to know an offenders past criminal records to make the right decision in a court, which also will have a positive impact on the reduction of crime rates in a country.