Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays smoking cigarettes stands for the majority of health concerns which are eventually leading to death. To some, owing to the gravity of the problem they call authorities to impose a veto on all smoking products. To the best of my knowledge, in line with prohibiting holding public awareness campaigns about the harmful effects of smoking can bring extra tangible benefits to stop this negative habit. Smoking is considered to be the major cause of many grave sicknesses among people. In accordance with medical statistics, cancer and cardiovascular diseases developed as a result of intensive usage of tobacco products beget more deaths every year. Therefore, in order to decrease smoking habits among individuals authorities should strictly monitor the tobacco markets, and consequently, access to these products will become more difficult. It is also believed that a complete ban would not be the only solution to solve massive smoking among individuals. In free societies, the government can not take full responsibility to manage people’s desires and control their predilections unless they are considered to be unlawful. Thus, implementation of constant soft implications such as educating people about the harmful effects of smoking would bring more advantages. Public awareness campaigns, for instance, can be a handy tool in persuading a mass amount of people to give up smoking. Social ads on TV and the Internet can also transmit a message to the millions. So, the social banning of cigarette products will be more beneficial rather than physical prohibition. In conclusion, taking into consideration the fact that smoking begets serious sicknesses among the population, governments should stop cigarette products to be imported. However, since the single banning of tobacco products is not considered to be an effective solution, individuals should be informed about the damaging effects of tobacco usage.