Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the last two decades, awareness has been raised towards certain aliments that can be hazardous to the consumer. Although increasing the prices of those items could be a possible strategy to reduce their consumption and mitigate the negative effects, other actions must be taken as the economic obstacle is not valid for many people. It is undeniable that food and drinks with excessive sugar should be less consumed, especially among children. However, its increasing popularity, millionaire marketing campaigns and widespread availability, makes it a difficult problem to tackle. Authorities tend to agree that the solution is increasing the prices, but evidence suggests that only that isolated action is not enough. For example, although in many countries cigarettes and alcohol have special taxes because they are harmful to people's health, that does not change the fact that they are consumed by millions of people every day. When it comes to people's pleasures, many do not care about spending more than they actually can. Changing consumption behaviours is a complex goal and therefore a wide variety of actions must be carried out. Apart from increasing prices or promoting special taxes, educating people about the negative effects excessive sugar can have on one's health is a must. In addition, healthy habits campaigns should be implemented, making less harmful food more available and cheaper for the consumer. Moreover, I strongly believe that excessive sugar food and drinks should be banned from schools and surrounding shops. Experts argue that the sooner a person learns to eat healthily, the easier will be in the future to maintain that conduct. To sum up, even though an increase in prices could discourage some people to consume harmful items, other actions should be taken to raise awareness and make those items less attractive for consumption.