Labour-saving devices such as dishwashers and communication tools such as computers are supposed to make our lives easier. However, some people argue that these devices only make them more difficult. Does modern technology reduce or increase stress? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Modern advancements in the fields of information technology and household work have undergone a tremendous evolution in order to make lives more convenient but some people consider that these devices have further raised the difficulty levels.In my opinion, I think that this modernisation was much-needed by the humans and it has saved the mankind from a lot of extra effort. One reason of favouring the idea of recent advances being useful in relieving stress is that by using advanced machinery for routine household chores, one can save a lot of time and energy, for example, automatic washing machines have revolutionised the method of doing laundry. Previously, people used to spent hours just on getting their clothes washed, whereas, nowadays many tasks can easily be managed alongside laundry by using the advanced machinery. Hence, one can save time and utilise it more constructively, causing an obvious decline in strain related to workload. Another reason is that stress has reduced significantly because of the newly introduced applications in communication sector, namely Whatsapp, Instagram and Skype etc.Due to these advancements, people feel more connected despite of long distances. In the modern era, people are bound to live apart due to compulsion of jobs or for educational purposes. In such a difficult situation, a large proportion of population is prone to getting affected with certain issues such as anxiety and depression. Therefore, by using modern communication applications these problems can be timely and effectively prevented. In conclusion, while some people might consider using labour-saving devices a source of difficulty, I am of the point of view that these modern tools, be it related to the field of technology or household tasks achievement, are of great significance in decreasing the level of stress related problems in society.