Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

The major source of serious illness and death in the whole world nowadays is smoking. Therefore, in regard to public health,cigarettes and other tobacco products should be prohibited.I agree that smoking is a danger to human health and should be prohibited. Firstly,those people who smoke usually do not have the repercussion in mind towards their health from smoking habits and thus continue making a daily trend however lowering their body immune which they end up having serious illness and death. In addition,the government has established smoking zones which are underutilized although not in all town centre consequently putting the public at risk so the other alternative is prohibiting cigarettes and other tobacco products. For example, a research done by the Nairobi university shows that 80% of lung cancer cases are caused by smoking. Therefore,it is imperative for the government to put the strict measures on smoking to reduce serious illness and death in the community. Secondly,companies that produce tobacco should have a strict policy that stands for the safety of the public since this company create employment therefore cannot be done away with but on alternative be supported. In addition tobacco products should be highly taxed to reduce frequent intake by people as they will be expensive. For example in Rwanda, tobacco products are 70% taxed and since then Rwanda has had the lowest cases of lung cancer.For this, reason the government has a big role in the prevention of illness and death in the community To conclude,people have a big role to play in prevention of serious illness and death by stopping to smoke while the government follow adherence to prohibited smocking