Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is assumed that raising the cost of fuel is one of the most effective strategies to resolve traffic jams and environmental problems. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement and I affirm that there are other legitimate solutions that can be taken to alleviate these issues. In this essay, I shall put forth some ideas to exemplify my points with lucid examples. On the one hand, the increase in petrol price may limit the use of private cars in a city and resolve the traffic issues in rush hour. Eventually, commuters may find alternative solutions to travel to work, for instance, they may consider the use of public transport or share the vehicles with others who share the same route in order to cut the cost of fuel. Few vehicles on the road may decline the level of carbon dioxide from four-wheel vehicles and mitigate environmental shortcomings. However, this countermeasure may not be logical to those who live far from their workplace and may not be accessible to public transport. On the other hand, there are also numerous alternative solutions that can be taken seriously by the government to enhance this situation. At first, local authorities may need to invest gigantic resources in upgrading public transportation like buses, metros or trams in metropolitans that allow citizens access to most parts of the city with affordable tickets. As a result, this may encourage more local residents to use public transport and descend the usage of private automobiles. Nevertheless, administrators may impose some strict rules to limit the number of trucks or vans in rush hours in order to alleviate traffic congestion. In some Nordic countries, governments encourage their citizens to cycle to work by constructing bicycle routes that captivate many cyclists. Consequently, bicycles have become a popular means of transportation in these countries which contributes to the decrease in traffic and pollution matters. In conclusion, while the surge in petrol price may discourage some people to use their own automobiles, I still assume that other solutions such as upgrading public transport and encouraging inhabitants to bike may be more appropriate and should be considered by local governments.