It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Penalizing youngsters in their developing years is mandatory as it allows them to distinguish between right and wrong. I partially agree with the statement and think that, although punishments can have positive outcomes, but it also contributes negatively in the child's growth. So, appropriate methods should be considered that can be productive in controlling their behavior which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, retribution develops self-discipline. It is important that children are aware of their misbehaviors, or else they will keep repeating them. Since children are being punished on their misdoings, it creates a sense of fear which discourages them to involve in such tasks. Consequently, it teaches them self-control. However, harsh penalties lead to unwanted emotional responses. It is because the of the progressing intellectual ability of kids. Due to this, they are unable to understand the intentions of being penalized and percieve it as a torture. Resultantly, they become more aggressive and rebellious. People should adopt constructive strategies to teach the children as it will help in the guidance of kids by meeting their psychological needs. For example, if a child is doing something wrong, explain them their mistake and make them sit alone and stop talking to them for some time, so that they can rethink about their misdeeds. This way, they would cooperate with their guardians. Needless to say, that corporal punishments have detrimental for younger ones. It will not only cause physical injury but will mentally depress the child. So, these acts should be strictly prohibited. In conclusion, punishment is essential for a child to make judgements. But rather than implementing strictness, there should be such measurements that emotionally support the child.