In many countries plastic bags are main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

As the world's population continues to grow, so does the amount of garbage that people produce. In lot many countries, bags made of plastic are the primary contributors of wastes leading to pollution in the water bodies and on land and hence polyethene usage should not be encouraged. Though plastic is an incredibly useful material, it is a serious threat to mankind, animals and plant life as well for the reason being it is mainly composed of toxic components which cause illness. Firstly, plastic is a durable material and this is one of the main reasons that this is not biodegradable and hence causes a negative impact on the environment when accumulated in large quantities. Toxins present in any polyethene products adversely affect plants which in turn leads to an increase in carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere posing severe damage to the human population in that region. Plastic thrown after the usage at times get consumed by animals while they feed on the eatable local wastes containing polyethene substances and this results in the death of animals when the plastic concentration is pretty huge. Also, polymer wastes redirected into oceans, seas and rivers not only pollutes the water but also destroy the water species and a huge variety of sea creatures causing an ecological imbalance. Another addition is that toxic compounds released by plastic bags and other products harm the ozone layer which protects the atmosphere and prevents any harmful gases from entering the earth surface. To conclude, plastic usage should be completely eradicated although, it has a wide range of benefits, at the same time there are much more concerns it creates over its advantages. An alternate to the polymers which are biodegradable and has no adverse effects on the environment should be put in place and measures to be taken to make sure these are used predominantly over polythenes.