Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

When it comes to how to make progress in sports, attitudes vary from country to country. Some remain firm believer in splurging to provide top infrastructure for elite sportsmen despite the common international belief that making these infrastructures an everyday luxury available for both school boys and city workers is more vital. In my aspect, burning money only for a few top athletes is a negative method of development. My viewpoint stems from such factors. To begin with, those specialized facilities are expensive and lavishing on them will put a tremendous burden on the budget of government. And these fundings could be spent on education, medicine and social safety-net instead, what are thought to be more beneficial to lift the living standards of people. Moreover, the elite athletes are usually selected from a quite early age. They spent all of their time practicing and lost many opportunities to learn the literal curriculum. If they quit their sports career one day, it is difficult to feed themselves, as no skills are mastered except sports techniques. At the same time, the huge pressure shouldered on these top teenagers may bring both physical and psychological illness. Last but not least, if the facilities are admitted only to be used by few ranges of people, the aim of improving overall health situation cannot be achieved. The revenues earned by the authorities are supported by every citizen, therefore it should be used to develop public infrastructure. In a word, the elite sports have enormous negative impact on development of society and should be cancelled.