The main visitors to museums and historical sites are tourists, not local people. Why it is the case ? What can be done to attract local people to these places ?

The museums and historical sites are the places where the historic value of a nation is displayed. In the present age, it is increasingly ubiquitous to see that the majority of people who visit these places are tourists, not the local inhabitants. This essay will put some explanations forward this case before proposing some feasible solutions to engross local people to visit. There are numerous reasons why local people do not spend their leisure time paying a visit to these places. To begin with, to those who live in their own country from an early age, it is obvious that they are knowledgeable about the history. Therefore, local citizens would spend their free time on their hobbies or learn something new rather than visiting museums. In terms of the visitors, the purpose of their trip is to learn more about everything in the nation which they visit. For instance, enjoying local cuisines, playing some risky sports or visiting the gallery to admire antiques. Hence, museums and historical sites are mainly paid a visit by tourists. However, some feasible solutions can be applied to remedy this issue. Firstly, the government should allocate more funds to ameliorate everything in the museums such as security systems or decorations and among others. What is more, instead of compelling students to sit in front of a boring screen and have no interest in learning history, the school can organize some small trips to museums to arouse students excitement. Historical sites would also be beneficial simply because they would be able to sell more tickets. In a nutshell, many viable solutions can be used to encourage more local citizens to visit the museums and historical sites.