Working long hours causes a great deal of stress and can be very bad for the health. The government must find a way to reduce this type of stress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Everybody knows that stress is bad for workers ' health. But whose fault is that? It is my submission and that it is the government role to intervene through legislation and support network to tackle this issue. Stress in the workplace comes from long working hours. In modern societies, workers are well-connected. In some work culture, workers are expected to be reachable even outside of their contractual working hours. Competition among employees in the workplace doesn't help. As an employee, it is natural to want to advance in his career.It means he must work hard at his job, sometimes going above and beyond his normal call of duty.All of this produces stress. Stress also comes from having a poor boss. Unfair treatment at work is one of the reason many workers quit as they cannot cope with the stress. Stress affects many aspects of a persons health, both physically and psychologically. The negative effects of stress is well known.A person may lose concentration at work, Miss handle his tasks. He may be irritable and poison the atmosphere at work. The government has a role to play in promoting healthy habits.In many countries in Europe, by law, workers must not work for more than a certain number of hours each week. Such policies set a framework to reduce, avoid long working hours, thereby protecting workers or well-being in general, and help reduce stress related illnesses. It has been observed that stress level is higher in corporate Asia.In highly competitive economies like Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan and South Korea, workers routinely work overtime. Chronic overwork is a major cause of work related stress. The situation and ends up costing the company and the economy in terms of workers health and long-term medical treatment for stress. It is believed that if the government of these Asian countries follow the footsteps of their European counterparts and put it into law labour policies and at looking after work as well-being, there will be an overall reduction in stress related illnesses and absenteeism, with a net positive effect on the economy.