Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

A group of lawyers gave their opinion regarding the criminal case laws which suggest hiding their previous criminal record as this law would save them from any harsh penalty. In my opinion, I agree with the fact that government must make some amendments to these laws. Firstly, all the information about the person who has committed the crime before must be presented, otherwise if not it will be a huge relief for them as they will be saved from taking any strict action against them by the government. For instance, if a person has done some serious crimes in the past and his record is not shown before the judiciary they would be on cloud nine as they might get bail without any strong evidence against them. Despite that government must think about those laws which they have initiated at first. Secondly, against those which has crime been done would not get justice and inevitably their trust on the government and about democracy would be broken just because of those laws. In addition to that, there would also be no need for lawyers to push the judiciary to take strict decisions about the case and against the accused. By and large, I agree with the given statement. Especially, in those countries where crime rates have been hit the highs it might just cause havoc there, so these laws are against the innocent people on whom the crime was committed. To conclude, I must say without any further delay government must take these laws back, before it's too late. Moreover, Our society would also not remain the same if the government does not repeal these laws, we are going to see an increase in crime rates too.