Some people think that women should not be allowed to work in the police force. Do you agree or disagree?

. Law enforcement plays an important part in maintaining peace in many countries. Whilst, many sections of society are against women joining the police force, others support this notion. I agree with this notion and will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. First and foremost, being part of a police force is a job, just like any other. So, to prevent women from joining the force will account for harassment and prejudice. This can also give rise to legal issues. In addition to this, it allows them to become independent, and provide them with social and economic status in an already male-dominated society. Furthermore, having female police officers patrolling the streets will empower younger generations to strive to their level, because they now know that it is possible. Alternately, female police officers are noted to be more approachable and nurturing as compared to men. For example, in Dubai, female police officers must accompany female drivers in their driving tests. This helps give the learner drivers a sense of calm and composure whilst they take this test. A study shows that females have better reaction times and survival skills. Therefore, they tend to make better decisions in crisis times, which helps in maintaining law and order. In conclusion, everyone is free to apply for any job that they wish, and it is the job of the organisation to treat every applicant fairly provided they meet the requirements of the job. This fairness and equality will help future generations escape the shackles of this male egocentric society.