Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol some people think that the best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solution can you suggest?

Alcohol -related crimes are steadily on the rise in many countries. Whilst many argue the way to curtail this sort of crime is to ban alcohol altogether, I do not think this is an effective measure. In the course of this essay, I will substantiate my reasoning whilst providing possible solutions. First and foremost, the thing to remember is that alcohol alone does not create criminals, it is the lack of understanding of one's limit which causes criminal activity. If governments decide to ban the sale of alcohol, people will decide to get it illegally, which can have dire consequences. For example, In Kerala, because of the pandemic, all the bars have been closed for months, so to assist the demand for the drink, many people resorted to illegal means to make alcohol. After the same of this, it was reported that at least 15 people had died because the illegal alcohol purchased was tainted. Some solutions for this would be to introduce cards, which allow people to purchase legally a certain quantity of alcohol for a certain period. To deter major consumption of the drink, the governments need to increase to price and difficulty of obtaining such cards. For example, in Dubai, the government has introduced licenced shops where individuals can purchase a set quantity of alcohol for 6 months. Now, these cards are not distributed willy nilly, instead, they are issued based on a person's income, and are priced higher as well. Furthermore, there is very high policing between different states, so that no one can take advantage of lenient rules. In conclusion, the banning of alcohol is not a practical solution, but instead, the punishment for drunken criminal activity needs to be increased severely to deter people from consuming over their legal limit.