Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether people should accept a bad situation as it is or raise a fight for its betterment is the question. There’s a famous saying by Swami Vivekananda- ‘Change the things you can’t accept, accept the things you can’t change and O God, give me the wisdom to understand the difference between the two’. People may come across a few situations in life where however much a person rants, curses or tries to change it, the only way out of it is time. Time is the healer. Shortage of money owing to global economic depression or a natural disaster like an earthquake or floods might bring a person’s life to a complete standstill. In such cases, all a man can do is wait. He should have faith that it was just a bad tide which would soon pass and the skies will be clear again. But most of the other situations in life will present themselves with an option. If a person is in a dilemma then, he should always try to choose the better option. He should never settle for something that is lesser than his own capability. A job for that matter is what a person will be doing daily in order to earn a living. So if he finds himself in a job which he deems unsatisfactory in terms of the salary, job profile or opportunities, he should always strive harder in order to get a job which challenges his worth and makes him happy. Job satisfaction should be given the utmost importance because that is what his happiness depends upon. If a student is unhappy with the quality of education in his college, he should always approach the concerned authorities or improve his own score to secure admission into a better college. If people of a country are unsatisfied with their legislators, they should make sure to change their votes in the next election. All in all, I strongly believe that people should give their best possible shot to improve any bad situation and try to get what makes them happy or else they will have to be happy with whatever they get. The biggest failure or the most intractable mistake is always better than never trying at all.