It is thought by some that a school teachers role is to motivate and inspire students. However, other people believe that a teachers primary role is to pass on knowledge . What do you think is the role of a teacher?

There is no doubt of the role that a teacher plays in a child's education. Some people believe that the primary role of a teacher is to motivate students, whilst others believe their role is to pass on knowledge. I partially agree with both points, and I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. First and foremost, let us look at the viewpoint of teachers being motivators. Schools introduce a variety of subjects to students, and different students develop varying interests in a range of subjects. The educators, now having gained the student's interest must motivate them to keep pursuing the subject irrespective of the difficulty involved, because teenagers tend to give up on things once it gets a bit hard. For example, in our 9th year of school, we could choose which subject we wish to continue with till our 12th year. During this period, I had taken Hindi as one of my subjects, because I had excelled in it during my younger years. However, as the competition in this class was very high, I soon found myself doubting my choice in the subject but my teacher, who taught me in my earlier years, never let me give up as she knew my capability in the subject. At the end of the year, I was able to get 80% for the final exam. Alternately teacher's are also responsible for passing on the knowledge of a subject. This is very true because they are the one point of contact for subject content. In other words, they are the sole people responsible for determining a kid's future course of study. They will be able to assist the students on how to be able to get more information concerning a particular subject. In conclusion, I feel teacher's play a very important role in a child educational life. Not only do they help motivate them, when things seem to go wrong, but they are also responsible for educating them in such a manner which will be easy for the children to understand.