A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, some people think that the social status and wealth of a person carries more significance rather than the traditional values such as honour, kindness and trust. I completely disagree with this statement because,in my opinion, these moral values are extremely important for many communities. On one hand, people are judged by how much wealth and materialistic property they have. This is often seen in a society that people who are in higher income brackets, get more respect than those who do not have enough money to show off. One good example of this is Kim Kardashian, she is famous because of her luxury lifestyle and net worth despite her poor acting skills. Therefore, people argue that financial status is more valuable to be in the highlights. On the other hand, old values such as respect, kindness and trust are the top priority for many people. Many parents teach their children about these values from the early stages of life so that their children can be better humans with these inherited qualities. For instance, during the Covid pandemic lockdown, a middle-class person from Maharastra helped hundreds of citizens to reach their homes and later he became popular throughout the country. Hence, it shows that money is not everything to show the worthiness of a person. To conclude, in my opinion, although, financial status and expensive things are being used by people to show their superiority in society, ancient values such as helping each other and giving respect to everyone are much more precious for the majority of citizens.