Some people believe that adults get motivated to exercise and play sports because of the major sports events on TV such as the Olympic Games and Football World Cup. Others say that there are many ways apart from TV to encourage them to exercise. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People often support the idea that broadcasting major sporting events increase the motivation of the public to exercise and play sports, while a substantial number of individuals feel that there are other ways of encouragement towards exercise. It is true that events like the Olympics increase the sports following and number of people starting physical activities, but government and community initiatives have shown that TV telecast of sports is not the only way to improve these activities. The essay supports the idea of community-based approaches to improve physical activities. A surge in sporting goods sales every four years has shown that television broadcast of the Olympics has a huge impact on the number of people opting for sports and physical activities around the event time. This further improves when a country or the team wins a particular event. A massive rise in the number of people rushing to buy Javelin after the recent victory of India in the Olympic games is a perfect example of how impactful are the TV telecast of games. The sporting events also provide a platform for viewers to understand the nitty-gritty of a sport, which further improves motivation to play the sport. The Popularity of Equisterian and Golf in India can easily be attributed to the Olympic telecast. On the contrary, government and community activities have far-reaching effects in improving physical activities among citizens, compared to sporting events telecast, which loses its charm in a short period. A local gym that regularly organizes running and sporting events will have a constant effect on the growth of physical activities in the neighbourhood. Additionally, government initiatives have worked wonders to improve the number of people opting for an active lifestyle. To exemplify, India has focused on Khelo India and Yoga day to motivate people to bring exercise into their daily life. In conclusion, live telecast of sporting goods has increased the number of people following and taking on sports, but the majority loses interest in a short time, but on the other hand, regular local activities supported by neighbourhood and government have long-lasting effects.