Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on more important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that people hold conflicting views about studying the science of food and its preparation. While some believe that this is a waste of time, which should be spent on more important studies, I agree with those who argue that food science and preparation should form an integral part of the student curriculum. On the one hand, there are already many subjects and activities that must be part of the timetable of all secondary schools. It is impossible to compare them in terms of their significance in the development of young people. For example, it is essential to have a good grasp of mathematics, IT, and the natural sciences, together with reading and writing skills, and activities such as art, music and sport. Sometimes, there are also vocational courses, and therefore school timetables are already full. On the other hand, food and diet are fundamental to health, and I support the view that food science and preparation must be taught in schools. Firstly, knowledge of food science is related to the study of human biology, in terms of building up the immune system, and the effects on the body of eating a balanced diet rather than consuming junk food. Secondly, it is also related to biochemistry. Students learn about artificial colouring and flavouring, chemical preservatives and understand food labelling. Finally, armed with a knowledge of food science, young people see the value of healthy eating habits and learn which foods are detrimental to health. By then cooking the food themselves, they practice safe hygiene standards and gain the lifelong skill of preparing nutritious homemade food. In conclusion, although the school curriculum is crowded, I agree with the opinion that space must be found to teach food science and preparation.