Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (For example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A few citizens believe that volunteerism should be a must portion of high school programmes which will be extremely helpful to change the attitude of youngsters and develop a good culture of helping each other. I opine that it would allow and give youngsters an opportunity to be responsible, mature and ownership. Firstly, our ancestors used to believe that because we live in the public, we should give it back to the public in need. Secondly, association duty helps to develop a habit of caring for each other,especially among the youngsters. Furthermore, it is a known and proven practice of being asked to do a certain number of hours for community service for people in prison or with criminal charges. However, this should not be given as a punishment, but it will help to transition the attitude of a person. Moreover, all these activities would help youths to preserve culture, values and help to develop soft skills. In today's technological era, children get distracted easily using gadgets and playing video games which affect their physical and cognitive health. Moreover, it has been challenging to engage youths and to keep them busy all the time and deviate their mentality towards constructive activity. Volunteerism would be the best way to keep them busy and transition their psyche. Nevertheless, the habit of "sharing is caring" can be developed easily by community service. Lastly, kids and youths can learn easily and promptly from younger kids. To summarise, community service would help our future generations to change their habits and mindset to a great extent which would be beneficial to them personally as well as in their professional career development and will help to create a better world for generations to come.