Many management interviews are based around assessing not only a person’s level of experience and knowledge but also their personality. Is leadership an innate skill? What other characteristics do companies look for in a manager?

A good leader possesses many intricate skills which make them valued by an organisation. It is more than just, experience and technical know-how, that makes a person an effective leader. Leadership, although it can be innate, it is also a transferable skill. In the course of this essay, we shall look into the varying characteristics companies look for in a manager. Firstly, let's talk about leadership. It is an important skill for a manager to have in his arsenal, and thankfully this is a skill that can be learnt, although many managers have this skill wired into them. For example, there is a saying in India, that if you want to work, work for Tata, and if you want to invest, invest in Ambani. The difference here is that if you invest in Ambani, you will get returns. However, if you work for Tata, you will be taken care of, as a member of a family. In January of this year, it was reported that Ratan Tata, had visited one of his ailing former employees, not for publicity but out of genuine concern. Other than leadership, a manager should be able to create a rapport with his colleagues, be transparent with them, empathise with them, and most importantly be able to size up an employee's contributions and give them opportunities to grow. These are some of the most valued and cherished attributes a company looks for in a manager. This is because, if employees work for someone with these qualities, there are more likely to work harder and be more committed to the project that they are working on. In conclusion, leadership whilst, it is an important skill to have, is not the only skill valued by companies when looking for a manager. This is because anyone can learn to become a leader, but if you combine it with the other skills mentioned earlier, that will make a manager a key asset for any company.