Many people Today find it difficult to balance the demands of their work and personal life what are the causes of the situation and what kind individuals and employers do to reduce the problem

With the huge development of technology and capitalism, many people today find it difficult to balance the demands of their work and personal life especially if one has a family. There are several reasons for this, but also a number of measures we can take. Possibly the major factor is the increased workload that many people have to deal with. The predominance of the service sector means that most people work in office-related jobs, and they find that employers expect them to stay longer or be available outside traditional office hours. For example, if someone has an urgent personal issue, he or she has to be excused whether the boss does not give the permission. On top of this, the rise of communication tools – ranging from smartphones to laptops and teleconferencing equipment – has accelerated the trend, because people are always contactable. Furthermore, the economic recession has made the labour market increasingly competitive, and so workers are under pressure to cooperate in this process, fearing loss of promotion or even redundancy if they resist. However, there are various steps that can be taken to lessen the problem. Firstly, individuals should clarify with their employer the times when they expect to be free of work and out of contact, thus ensuring private time. Another positive development would be for employers to allow more flexible working hours, so that staff can take time off for important family events during the working day. Lastly, employers could give subsidies, for instance, increments, perks, financial rewards such as bonuses or incentives, also they could offer some coaching to staff in areas such as time management, stress control and relaxation techniques. This would help to reduce the anxiety that stems from heavy workloads and long hours. In summary, we can say that technology and economics are the prime sources of this situation, but also that employees and companies together can reduce the impact.