The Growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Significant growth in E-Commerce has revolutionised the shopping practice around the world. Although it is considered an innovative method to purchase things, yet it’s commonly argued that it has an adverse impact on the shops around various cities and towns. I concede with the later argument and would like to elucidate some reasons for the same. Firstly, the majority of the population prefer convenience over everything, therefore, they prefer to shop online through their phone, laptop, and tablet, which is not feasible in conventional shops. Moreover, the facility of free home delivery provided by these online platforms has complicated the situation for the small shop owners even more. For instance, if an individual desire to purchase a book he or she would prefer to purchase it online, wherein they can explore from wide options while sipping coffee on their balcony or travelling to another side of the world, rather than finding a nearby bookstore, and visiting there personally to make a purchase. In addition to the above, these E-Commerce platforms are enabled with artificial intelligence software, which suggests options after analysing your preferences, therefore providing you many suitable choices without making any efforts of your own. Apart from that, there are products from various brands across the globe available on these digital platforms, which might not be available in the local stores, therefore inclining the shoppers towards these online platforms over conventional shops.