Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It has been very common nowadays that a recruiter may ask about personal information such as their hobbies, likings and married or single. I opine that it is fair to gather such statistics for the most part for various reasons. Firstly, companies gather these statistics to develop a culture and bonding among their staff to strengthen friendship and positive relationships to improve the company's performance. Secondly, organizations organize team-building activities based on their likings and data collected. Moreover, for company benefits and insurance purposes, they often require such knowledge. Furthermore, with a professional approach, employers would like to see friendly culture within the organization to strengthen productivity. Companies like google which is rated number one place to work, provide canteen, different amenities, gymnasium and sports facility within the organization for leisure activity and it would have been not possible without data collection. In this technological era, the world is very much connected using the internet with billions of devices so collections of any personal or sensitive material should be kept with restricted access and compromise of info can be a huge risk. Many times, info provided to third parties is sold for the huge price tag to the hackers. Nevertheless, with human rights and awareness of legal laws, employers can not force anyone to provide their personal information. Finally, many people would like to maintain a professional relationship and would not like to socialize much outside. To summarise, if the collection of private data is meaningful and used precisely then it is very much helpful otherwise misuse can damage equally so thoughtful consideration and discussion are necessary before any such activity.