The environment problems facing today's world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. Governments and large companies should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

To begin with, individual awareness of the natural law of cause and effect must be nurtured. All levels of education, especially primary and secondary schools, can be a good starting point to develop the realization that whatever we do to the environment, it will return to ourselves. Moreover, the mass media are also responsible for raising the public's ecological consciousness. Instead of persuading people to buy those new products that only serve to fuel the existing environmental problems, one of their unavoidable obligations is to instill the urgent need of taking care of our natural environment into the psyche of each and every member of our planet. It is undeniable that serious actions are being taken. In fact, restrictions are being placed on emissions of pollutants, and new environmentally friendly sources of energy for motor vehicles are being developed. Moreover, vast tracts of land are allocated for wildlife conservation, and many endangered species have been spared the fate of extinction. Nevertheless, it is also a well-known fact that the pace of damage to the environment far outstrips our conservation efforts. Unless all citizens of the world are fully aware of the gravity of the situation, ecological degradation, which is happening in their counties, can never be halted. All too often, we tend to expect our scientists, engineers and governments to solve the environmental problems while, in the meantime, factories and households are dumping millions of litres of toxic wastes into rivers, lakes and oceans. Similarly, fancy private vehicles are being crazily purchased, emitting billions of tons of car exhaust into the atmosphere and aggravating the greenhouse effect. Given this argument, it is reasonable to conclude that if every member of the society is aware of the relationships between humans and the nature and stops their destructive behavior, the ecological strain on earth can relieved and the benefits to all nations are enormous.