Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

Nowadays, a young generation of people has much wider knowledge about global pop or movie celebrities than about well-known persons from the history of their own nation. There are several facts why this is an ongoing issue, and there are some solutions that could boost the popularity of national famous people. The most important fact that contributes to such attitude is common access to the internet where global news shares a lot of information about international superstars. This is mostly caused by the fact that people who gained a lot of popularity also could generate more profits for TV stations or newspapers. For example, the article about Jennifer Lopez, the famous pop singer, can be viewed and read by thousands of people worldwide because everyone knows her, while a singer who is popular only in his own country will not be recognized by people from other nations. There are some solutions to such issues, but everything must be planned upfront. The first idea comes with changes in history classes at the schools. During the time in class, the period should be split into topics related to world history,and separately to the history of the country. This will bring more attention to famous people of the particular country. The other solution would be related to the production of movies, songs or video games that involve important people from the past. These media are often watched, listened or played by the young generation, and will redirect their focus on important people from their own country. To conclude, changing someone’s interests is not an easy task, but with good planning and,organization it may be worth it. Young people should be able to recognize the achievements of their own historic people rather than admire international pop or movie stars.