Nowadays many people choose to be self- employed rather than to work for a company or organisation .why might this be the case? What could be the advantages and disadvantages of being self-employed?

The employment desires of people have been changed. Consequently, the majority have of people have chosen self-employment over salaried jobs. In my view, this trend will reduce the number of job seekers in the market. Although, this option beneficial people with considerable freedom and a higher profit, even with the significant risk and responsibilities. The increasing number of self-employment will limit the experienced and qualified job applicants in the market. Therefore, companies will be unable to achieve the expected profit margins with those lower-skilled employees. For instance, WSO2, a software company, had to fill their product manager position only from 3 applicants. I believe being a self- entrepreneur will facilitate people with more freedom and higher profits. After initiating your own income source, you will be your own boss. Thus, you can manage your work life and personal life more efficiently, and this will create more freedom to make your own decisions. In addition, this will result in you earning profits rather than a regulated salary. In contrast, by contributing a significant effort, you can rise up your income. My husband is a freelance creative designer and he earns twice as much as my monthly salary, even with more leaves. On the other hand, high risk and unlimited responsibilities are the two main drawbacks of being self-employed. You always have to bear the losses as well as the profits. Moreover, you have to tolerate the impact which could be occurred due to a sudden crisis situation, like a COVID pandemic or a heart attack. For example, my uncle lost his garment business due to an unexpected blood clot inside his brain. In conclusion, the trend of being self-employed has increased within the recent past. In my opinion, this will negatively influence the companies by reducing the number of job seekers in the community. Nevertheless, people will acquire more freedom and higher profits by self-employment, even with the high risks and responsibilities.