Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

University education, even though is definitely directed towards generating lucrative employment opportunities for the advanced students; there are additional arrays of associated benefits of tertiary education that are worth mentioning. Firstly market researches in the United States and other developed countries have shown that post graduates are able to command a considerable higher salary at workplace when compared to graduates or simple high school diploma holders. Moreover, the professional world of certain white collared highly respected professions, like those of physicians, engineers, scientists can only be pursued, after graduating from the respective university courses. Furthermore, in certain fields like management, the credibility of various universities are judged by their ability to generate glittering well-paid employment offers for their fresh graduates, during their campus placements. Hence university education is definitely perceived as a means of better employability. In this context it is worth mentioning that, apart from generating lucrative jobs for students, universities also benefit the nation by creating educated societies, containing an immense pool of forward thinking individuals, who can contribute towards social development by their respective expertise. Individuals graduating from universities also additionally benefit from the multicultural environments that promote intercultural tolerance and brotherhood. The process of tertiary education also promotes teamwork and collective development amongst individuals. Over and above, numerous long lasting friendships, business partnerships and courtships also bloom from the university campus life. Finally, to sum up, it can be confidently stated that apart from generating respectable employment, there are numerous associated positive aspects of university education, which are of great social and individual significance.