Film stars and celebrities often share their views on public matters that have little to do with their profession. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the present day, the presence of famous people in society has become increasingly popular. Using social media, which is a necessary tool to reach a variety of individuals, they can speak not only about their careers but also about other essential topics. For these reasons, the benefits are greater than the drawbacks. One of the main advantages is the influence over ordinary people. Celebrities, using their power, may sway individuals through experiences and fame. For instance, famous brands can use the influence of actors to promote their products. Moreover, they can endorse the local service resulting in improvements to the economy. This kind of small business needs of helping to be renowned, therefore, famous ones can contribute to this function. Another essential benefit is the promotion of awareness campaigns of current and necessary issues present in the world. Take climate change as an example, a variety of international well-known ones such as actors, models, singers were responsible for a documentary on Netflix about climate change, which demonstrated negative consequences and the impact in the next generation if we do not set up initiatives to fight against this problem. Furthermore, another key positive side is the possibility in order to raise money for charity. Personalities can show to society either situations and problems which are unknown or completely different from the reality for most citizens. There are, however, some disadvantages. This type of exhibition can become popular individuals much more target of criticism. For example, important companies can disapprove of this kind of behaviour resulting in intimidation and some loss of contracts. In addition, another negative side is the loss of privacy due to visibility. The more famous ones are in the mass media, the more they are threatened and persecuted. In conclusion, the presence of celebrities so as to promote current issues is completely necessary to broaden the vision of ordinary people since some problems need to be discussed and solved. These hassles need someone to give voice to them. There are some cons, however, the positive impact outweighs the negative one.