Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The force of inertia affects all matters including us equally. But what makes some people willfully bring or accept changes, while others don't? Change for most people and in most cases is a choice, which requires one to act on it. However, changes also can bring positive and negative consequences to one ’s life depending on personal preferences. In this essay I would like to argue that neither positive nor negative results are guaranteed. Also, the results of a change can vary from one person to another depending on the circumstances. Avoiding or eluding changes does not necessarily mean passivity; on the contrary, it can mean stability and security for some people. People who avoid changes are those who usually prefer stability and security over adventure. There are plenty of logical reasons behind why avoiding changes can bring assurance. The first reason is that by avoiding changes, one can increase their chance of success and eliminate possible risks. And staying in one state or position means more competence in that area due to repetition, which makes us more efficient and competent. One could receive multiple promotions within the same organization, while they might lose the chance if they changed their workplace frequently. The same pattern applies to relationships. For instance, those who appreciate family values and bonds mostly prefer not to leave their home city or country, fearing disconnection with their family. However, the number of drawbacks to stabilization also is as large as the benefits. On the other hand, although most changes are not risk-free, many people are willing to welcome changes. This group of people cherishes adventure and changes alongside accepting risks. People who take risks and still appreciate changes are optimistic and aware of the opportunities that may come with changes. For someone who has an adventurous personality, staying in a place for an extended period can be depressive and suffocating. Therefore, they are willing to trade job promotions off with adventure and new jobs. Although such an attitude toward changes used to be not quite acceptable, as an instance, many successful businessmen and women are leaving cities for the countryside in the quest to break free from their hectic city lifestyle. This new worldview and mindset make life more bearable for those who seek excitement. However, as mentioned earlier, changes can be beneficial or harmful depending upon the person who acts on changes and the circumstances. In conclusion, the core of the argument suggests that there is no definitive and absolute answer to the question of whether we should welcome changes or treat them stagnantly. Also, there is no good or harm in the changes, but it is a choice made by different people. Being open to change might be beneficial to someone, while it can harm someone else. Excellent job. One of the best essays you’ve written. It is much more coherent and much more focused than most of your other essays. There is still room for improvement, of course, and I have highlighted some of the changes you can make to refine your essay even further. But you’re getting better and better at this by the day, so don’t stop writing. Two thumbs up!