Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

It is no doubt, that young people are attracted to foreign modern cultures and they like famous people from other countries more than their country’ history and well-known people from the past. That unavoidable trend depends on popularity on the internet and social media apps generally. The main reason why kids, teenagers and young adults are interested in international movie stars and overseas entertaining movements more than their local historical events is the exact amount of information that is located on the internet at the moment. In other words, if that particular segment of the population gets more content from foreign sources, so their domestic culture world won’t be attractive at all. For example, my young cousin who is sixteen years old gets a lot of pleasure watching foreign superhero movies. He would never watch a local historical film instead of a fascinating overseas project. There is a misconception that the new generation doesn’t like things about their own country and its past, but it is a much more global issue than meets the eye. Despite this annoying tendency, there are a lot of ways to resolve the problem. I suppose that love to watch documentary series about your country should instil from elementary school age. Otherwise, kids in schools will know much more about their own history and their ancients. That means the education system in schools should be reorganized to reinforce historical classes. For instance, when I was a student at elementary school our teacher showed us an excellent movie about Soviet people and how they worked together for our bright future. After,that I loved historical movies. In conclusion, some people consider that popularity of international movies and famous people over their own country history among young people is a significant issue. That happens because domestic content is not attractive as foreign. To my mind, the interest of kids and teenagers should be developed in school by an appropriate education system.