In many countries in the world people buy clothes and choose hair styles according to latest fashion. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or a negative development?

People belonging to different countries of the world are nowadays investing more money in buying clothes and following the latest trends of fashion regarding selection of hairstyles. In my opinion, this recent trend of following fashion blindly is detrimental. One of the reasons why people are attracted to this trend is that the fashion industry has been presented as a world of fantasy. This unique way of presentation has drawn the attention of the youth to the field of fashion, for example, a lot of dress designers conduct different fashion shows using the famous sports and social media icons as models for showcasing their recent collections, hence the youngsters are attracted more towards this industry. Another reason is that in the modern world to make more money and to promote business, people are trying to invest a handsome amount of money in advertisements. These advertisements are made more eye-catching and sometimes even bad quality stuff is shown as being made up of durable material. Thus, people under the influence of these commercials develop trust and buy more from these brands. To illustrate this, the public mostly thinks that the brands investing more in the advertisement industry would be having better quality and these brands being business-minded tend to exploit these people due to this mentality. I am of the point of view that this development is affecting the world negatively. The followers of these recent trends in fashion are distracted, therefore they are emphasising more on adapting the newer ways to look more stylish and modern as compared to their studies, leading to a sharp decline in their grades. To illustrate it further, in the past students would focus more on their studies but owing to the greater influence of fashion these days, their emphasis has been shifted. They are spending more time thinking about what to wear for college without even realising that their time is being wasted this way. In conclusion, although following recent fashion is trendy, I think that the sudden surge in fashion followers is resulting in this youth being controlled by the fashion world and some strategies must be planned to salvage this situation or else the effects would be disastrous.