Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that while museums and historical sites are places of interest for numerous tourists, local people have no interest to travel to these places. Reasons for this vary, and steps need to be taken to tackle the problem. There are several reasons why the locals do not pay a visit to museums and h istory r elic in v icinity. One of the main reasons is that local people are familiar with stories or objects on display in such places. They must have been learned through books, TV or been told by their relatives, so they baulk at the prospect of spending their leisure time o n v isiting local museums. In contrast, strolling around these places is a great chance for t ravelers to embrace a new culture, new tradition. Not only can they learn about the history of their destination but also the local people’s practices. However, the issue described above is not intractable. The simplest measure would be that museums should coordinate with schools to hold outings for local students. They may find it fascinating to pay a visit to historical sites, and it is likely that they will come back with their parents or friends in the future. Another remedy is that museums need to be renovated to make them more appealing to local people. B eside using models or wax figures, museums should apply advanced technology to appeal l ocal visitors. Ho Chi Minh Museum, for instance, has become a f avorite place for numerous families to frequent at weekends since it used v irtually reality technology in depicting historic events. In conclusion, i ndifferent attitude of the locals towards museums and h istorical relic is attributable to several factors. This problem can be handled by adopting the above-mentioned solutions.