Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Aging is inevitable for everyone of us. Some find it an absolutely terrible thing that has no good for anyone, others believe that as the elderly, living in the modern society turns out to be much more comfortable and happy than ever before. I, for one, think that growing old in the modern society is much less distressing and anxious than before, but there is still a long way for the entire society to go. As we age, our immunity system deteriorates and we are more likely than young people to be subject to some dangerous diseases, including diabetes and cancers. This natural trend has not changed much despite technological advancements. As a result, the elderly patients with these diseases might have trouble living a normal life and some of them might suffer from premature death. Aside from the physical problems, the elderly are also more likely to encounter emotional issues. For instance, after they retire, the elderly tend to socialize less and thus gradually detach from the mainstream society. Those who cannot handle a lonely life might be trapped in emotional downturns and even depression. All these physical and emotional difficulties convince some people that aging is a bad thing. Many who disagree argue that the overall social development has made the retired life much easier and more comfortable than before. Welfare systems are becoming more and more well-rounded as the elderly can access more pensions and affordable health care. Meanwhile, medical technology is developing so rapidly that many previously incurable diseases are no longer problems. Plus, an increasing number of people are taught to be more civilized, so there are more volunteers that undertake the task of taking care of the elderly once in a while. There is no doubt that the elderly are living a better life, as they have access to more economic and medical welfare than before. Nevertheless, the status quo is still not perfect. Many elderly are still facing overwhelming adversities in their lives, so it is still the job of the entire society and governments to pay attention to this issue and improve the welfare system