It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to?

As we all know, our kids are the most important element of the future and they should be thought well to have the proper quality for their responsibility. Based on this fact, many people claim that we must show the difference between right and wrong to the next generation as soon as possible for the best outcome. They add, using a rigid discipline along with different kinds of punishment is vital. Personally, I don’t see this argument stands up to scrutiny and I will indicate my reasons in the following paragraphs along with my opinion about the level of punishment that we are allowed to execute. On the one hand, using punishments to teach something to young ones had been proofed wrong and ineffective several times during recent decades. One of the most noticeable defects of this method is the low level of impact. For instance, consider that you want to show your five years old son that showing respect to elderlies is his responsibility. You know that he will fail in doing this several times, and decide to show him the importance of this action with some penalties like not allowing him to watch Tv for a day. In fact, you may be successful, but your child has not learned the importance of that action and just did it because he was afraid of being punished. Thus, he will continue this behavior all his life without knowing the genuine philosophy behind it. One the other hand, being aware of that some actions like stealing have legal penalties might be useful in favour of prevention and better results. For example, many adolescents do not tend to keep their electronic devices off during class, so in this occasion, teachers can take their phones or laptops to keep the order of the classroom as well as showing students possible consequences of disobey. It should be pointed out that physical discipline is not moral in any circumstances. Hence, performing controlled punishments in front of some behaviors is not always harmful. All in all, while many communities believe that punishments are crucial part of the uprising process, I firmly believe this is not a valid statement because its drawbacks are way more than its benefits. However, in some cases parents and teachers should be permitted to consider determined penalties.