Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent to you agree or disagree.

Allocation of taxpayers money and utilisation of national funds for the development of the country is a common topic of discussion for many. Whether it should be used to focus on railways instead of roads is debatable. In my opinion, I feel both need to be of equal importance and budgeting should be appropriately addressed to provide hassle free modes of transportation to the public be it railways or roadways. Both railways and roads play a pivotal role in contributing to the growth of the economy. Although one form of transportation may have advantages and Disadvantages over the other, one cannot only focus on endorsing one mode of transportation. This essay will lay out reasons why I think, authorities must invest in both sectors equally. Firstly,locomotives reduce carbon emissions therefore being environmentally friendly. In addition they can mass transport large number of people and goods over larger distances at cheaper fares effectively and reliably. Moreover, trains are often less prone to traffic jams, congestion and harsh weather conditions such as fogs and heavy rains. Subsequently trains ensure people spend less time commuting and more time being productive. Furthermore, railways also provide employment to people and consequently improves their livelihood. Cars/buses have the advantage of accessing remote areas -which cannot be reached by trains. Good condition of the the roads means better control on traffic and fewer accidents and lives lost. Travel by road can be relied upon for shorter distances and for personal purposes. Although increasing carbon emissions are a cause for concern with the advent of electrically charged cars, there may be a positive impact on the carbon footprint in the future. In a nutshell, it wouldn’t be in the best Interst of the public, if the government were to only focus on one mode of transportation over the other, as both means have potential to flourish in their own way to improve the lives of people and the economy alike.