some people think sports are important for society, while others believe they should be taken as leisure activities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Sports are the most essential means to not only to maintain one's physical and mental health but also it helps different sections of individual from various countries bring together with a sense of unity and oneness. A few people believe that games involve a significant role in nation-building, whereas others are of the view they are played for pastimes. In my,view they, are vital for social development. In the next few paragraphs, I shall discuss both sides of it and also explain which is beneficial for society. On the one hand, sports dissolves barriers and bind people together. They are means by which different individuals belonging to various sections of society irrespective of their race, colour, culture, religion and gender come together on one platform along with cheers for their team. For instance, in a football match between Germany and Portugal not only the audience of both the countries come together forgetting their differences in opinion but also the Govt. will try to improve bilateral relations between the two countries. Hence, relations between the rival countries become friendly and cooperative. Furthermore, these international sports generate a lot of revenue for the Govt. through sales of visitor visas, flight tickets, hotel accommodations as well as tourist shopping. therefore, it will benefit a lot to the businesses and eventually lead to the countries economic development. So, sports are vital for social progress. on the other hand, if team members of both teams are not playing with sportsmen spirit and each one views other teams as enemies and rivals then there is a high possibility that fights will erupt and lead to a hostile and uncooperative environment between two countries, as a result, bilateral foreign relations between two nations are weakened. Furthermore, if players are pressurized to win matches, then they may resort to taking drugs for gaining timely extra strength and vigour. Therefore, it may be not only detrimental to their lives but also will be tarnishing the image of a nation on an international platform. To conclude, I agree that sports are vital for social development and are meant to promote tourism and act as a source of revenue for the Government. Nevertheless, Authorities should promote and ensure that sports are conducted in a friendly and peaceful environment. Hence, it is appreciated by all audiences of both countries.