Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Presently, although the expansion of urbanisation has brought improvement to the economy, it has also caused some difficulties in society, including traffic and pollution. Some believe that increasing gasoline prices will reduce these problems, while others argue that the price does not play a significant role in these issues. Despite the fact that rising oil prices may assist in the resolution, I agree with the latter opinion for a variety of reasons, which are detailed in the following paragraphs. Firstly, it is unlikely that people who own a car will change their routine due to the raising in gasoline prices. For example, in Bangkok, where heavy traffic congestion is everywhere, a lot of people decide to use their own cars for many reasons, such as being scared of the pandemic, the high cost of the BTS (Bangkok mass transit system) and the inconvenience of using public transportation. However, increasing petrol prices may force some people to find another way to save a living, but cars are still necessary for them. According to the previous paragraph, people living in urban areas must pay an additional fee if the fuel cost goes up. This issue can lead to a variety of social problems, including poor economics, which occurs when people ’s spending is imbalanced with their salary, growth in crime rate, as a result of increased stress, and finally, the worst case is people committing suicide because they have no capability to earn a living. In conclusion, though the rise of gasoline prices can reduce the use of cars, just a few have disappeared. On the other hand, it could cause other social and economic problems instead. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the statement that the best resolution for traffic congestion and pollution is to increase petrol. However, the government can try a different approach to solve this issue, such as improving public transportation or researching alternative energy resources.