In some countries, people are spending long hours at the workplace. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or negative development?

In some parts of the world, working overtime has been increasingly prevalent among employees. There are several reasons why this trend occurs but unfortunately, I believe that the negative impacts of this issue far outweigh the advantages. First and foremost, this phenomenon is becoming more and more popular in both developed and developing countries, where there are abundant jobs in the job market. Furthermore, due to overpopulation, the labor market is becoming more competitive than ever. Take China, for example, overpopulation is a serious problem that each citizen needs to make an attempt to work harder than anyone else to grab any job opportunities and they are willing to take on some extra work to prove their potential to employers or directors to gain promotion and get higher income. The second reason for this movement is none other than as the world is becoming progress, more work needs to be done but they can’t leave this task for tomorrow. As a result, they choose to stay at the office longer to do this task until the job is completed. Secondly, this tendency definitely has detrimental effects on human beings, especially on their health. As workers have to spend more time on their work, they will have less time to take care of themselves. Working for long hours means they do not have time to come home and have a proper meal, refresh for the next working day. As a consequence, this may lead to a decline in work efficiency because they no longer have enough energy to receive a new task, and they feel exhausted with office hours. For instance, according to recent surveys, Japanese office workers need to spend more than 10 hours a day on average to finish their jobs and many of them could not stand the pressure of work and colleagues, they commit suicide. In conclusion, spending half of their days at work is somehow may benefits to win promotion, but from my perspective that may cause more harmful impacts on humans such as health and loosing work -life balance.